Taupō Treasure Trails

Set off on a family biking adventure with Taupō’s Red Bike Treasure Trails. Cycle the scenic paths around the Taupō Town Centre and lakefront, collect the clues on the hidden red bikes, crack the code and be in to win cool prizes! There’s no need to rush - have a picnic along the way, stop for some hot chips or a fluffy, and reward the efforts of those young cyclists.

The Treasure Trail events kick off with a special weekend of bicycling fun. On Saturday April 13th from 1pm to 4pm, head down to Tapuaeharuru Reserve (near Te Ātea and the new Pou) for an afternoon of bike ramps and obstacles with Cath from Kids Bike Taupō.

Then, in case you need new wheels or would love to sell an extra bike from the garage, the 2nd hand bike sale is on Sunday, April 14th at Market Central on Northcroft Reserve from 9am to 1pm. And you can kick off your Taupō’s Red Bike Treasure Trail right from there!

Why stop with just one treasure trail? Discover the beauty of our region with the Blue Duck Treasure Trail in Turangi and the Green Gecko Treasure Trail in Mangakino. Whether you're a local or a visitor, this is your chance to see the area in a new light.

Choose between one, two, or all three unique trails, each promising a mix of fun, adventure, and a touch of mystery. As you cycle along, collect the clues sprinkled throughout, immersing yourself in nature and the magic of exploration. Crack the codes, fill out the special passport, and submit it to be in the running for alluring prizes. And for those seeking the pinnacle of achievement, completing all trails grants you an entry into the grand prize draw—a mystery reward that promises delight.

Picking up your trail maps is simple; they're available at local Customer & Visitor Centres and Libraries in Taupō, Turangi, and Mangakino. So, why wait? Prep your bikes, gather your family, and set off on a biking adventure that offers more than just a ride—it's a treasure-filled exploration of Taupō's best.

Sessions:
  • Sat 13 Apr, 12:00am - 11:55pm
  • Sun 14 Apr, 12:00am - 11:55pm
  • Mon 15 Apr, 12:00am - 11:55pm
  • Tue 16 Apr, 12:00am - 11:55pm
  • Wed 17 Apr, 12:00am - 11:55pm
  • Thu 18 Apr, 12:00am - 11:55pm
  • Fri 19 Apr, 12:00am - 11:55pm
  • Sat 20 Apr, 12:00am - 11:55pm
  • Sun 21 Apr, 12:00am - 11:55pm
  • Mon 22 Apr, 12:00am - 11:55pm
  • Tue 23 Apr, 12:00am - 11:55pm
  • Wed 24 Apr, 12:00am - 11:55pm
  • Thu 25 Apr, 12:00am - 11:55pm
  • Fri 26 Apr, 12:00am - 11:55pm
  • Sat 27 Apr, 12:00am - 11:55pm
  • Sun 28 Apr, 12:00am - 11:55pm
Ticket information:
Free
Location:
Taupō isite
Restrictions:
All Ages
Visit website
Powered by Eventfinda