Don't wait for a weekend! Cheeky midweeky deals >

Tūhura Tuarangi - Aotearoa In Space

Take a break from that scorching Taupō sun and check out the hands-on showcase which gives the opportunity to explore Aotearoa’s deep connections to space, from the earliest Polynesian navigators to the space technologies and research being developed in our own backyard.

Tūhura Tuarangi - Aotearoa in Space is packed with hands-on interactive activities to play, build, launch, and explode with your whole whānau. You can build a satellite, launch a rocket, and see how to create rocket fuel from water. Get up close with four-billion-year-old meteorites, recreate the astronomical cycles of our solar system, or even hold a part of a secret Russian spacecraft.

As part of the showcase, you can also share your hopes and dreams for what Aotearoa’s future in space might look like and how you can be a part of telling our space story.
This showcase started at Tūhura Otago Museum in Ōtepoti Dunedin and is now traveling nationwide. Taupō Museum is open from 10am to 4.30pm daily and entry is free for Taupō District residents with proof of address.
Children 0 – 18 Free, Seniors 60plus and Students $3, Adults $5

Sessions:
  • Sat 2 Mar, 10:00am - 4:30pm
  • Sun 3 Mar, 10:00am - 4:30pm
  • Mon 4 Mar, 10:00am - 4:30pm
  • Tue 5 Mar, 10:00am - 4:30pm
  • Wed 6 Mar, 10:00am - 4:30pm
  • Thu 7 Mar, 10:00am - 4:30pm
  • Fri 8 Mar, 10:00am - 4:30pm
  • Sat 9 Mar, 10:00am - 4:30pm
  • Sun 10 Mar, 10:00am - 4:30pm
  • Mon 11 Mar, 10:00am - 4:30pm
Ticket information:
Free
Location:
Taupo Museum
Restrictions:
All Ages
Powered by Eventfinda