New season deals you'll love! View deals

Creepy Crawlies

Reused and recycled Creepy Crawlies at Taupō Museum

Cats, dogs, birds, bicycles and aquatics, the Taupō Museum’s annual reused, recycled exhibition themes always invite a wide range of creative interpretations.

This year’s exhibition, with the theme Creepy Crawlies, has been highly ant-icipated and creative people from professional artists to school groups have swarmed to the museum to collect entry forms.

There is a range of creepy crawly creatures bee-ing created, from all sorts of recycled materials including driftwood, vinyl records, fur balls, cutlery, and toys.

Mount View School has embraced the theme by participating in a rubbish pick-up and creepy crawly making workshop with Taupō District Council waste minimisation officer Shannon Hanson.

“Some of the rubbish we collected we deemed as good art materials and these were separated and cleaned,” she says.

“The students partnered up and created a creepy crawly of their choosing out of the salvaged materials. It was amazing how creative and industrious they were.

“Some created real insects with acute attention to detail and others created made-up creatures with special powers. It was a great lesson on repurposing materials that could be considered as ‘trash’ and turning them into something interesting.”

The Creepy Crawlies exhibition will be held in both the Main and Niven Room galleries at the Taupō Museum from 2 December to 6 February. Taupō Museum is open seven days from 10am to 4.30pm. Entry is free for locals and tamariki, otherwise $5 for adults, and $3 for seniors and students.

The official opening at 5.30pm on Friday 2 December is supported by The Friends of the Taupō Museum and Art Gallery and local craft meadery Beehave will be holding a special tasting for attendees.

The museum hours will be reduced to 10am to 3pm on Christmas Eve and it will be closed on Christmas Day.

The history of reused, recycled exhibitions at Taupō Museum

First there was Re-cycle, an exhibition of artworks created using bicycle parts, held to celebrate the 40th anniversary of the Lake Taupō Cycle Challenge.

Then came the Dog Show, celebrating the Chinese Year of the Earth Dog, which featured dogs created from recycled, repurposed materials and an additional gallery set up especially for dogs to enjoy.

CATalogue followed with a gallery full of cat sculptures, in 2020, flying in on the tail of the nationwide Covid-19 lockdown, came Retweet where birds of recycled feathers flocked together.

In 2020, flying in on the tail of NZ’s national covid lockdown came ‘Retweet’ where birds of recycled feathers flocked together.

Lastly, Quixotic Aquatic, the fifth of Taupō Museum’s reduce, reuse, recycle, recreate exhibitions, invited participants to create artworks and sculptures of creatures, real or imagined, with an aquatic theme.


Sessions:
  • Thu 8 Dec, 10:00am - 4:30pm
  • Fri 9 Dec, 10:00am - 4:30pm
  • Sat 10 Dec, 10:00am - 4:30pm
  • Sun 11 Dec, 10:00am - 4:30pm
  • Mon 12 Dec, 10:00am - 4:30pm
  • Tue 13 Dec, 10:00am - 4:30pm
  • Wed 14 Dec, 10:00am - 4:30pm
  • Thu 15 Dec, 10:00am - 4:30pm
  • Fri 16 Dec, 10:00am - 4:30pm
  • Sat 17 Dec, 10:00am - 4:30pm
  • Sun 18 Dec, 10:00am - 4:30pm
  • Mon 19 Dec, 10:00am - 4:30pm
  • Tue 20 Dec, 10:00am - 4:30pm
  • Wed 21 Dec, 10:00am - 4:30pm
  • Thu 22 Dec, 10:00am - 4:30pm
  • Fri 23 Dec, 10:00am - 4:30pm
  • Sat 24 Dec, 10:00am - 3:00pm
  • Mon 26 Dec, 10:00am - 4:30pm
  • Tue 27 Dec, 10:00am - 4:30pm
  • Wed 28 Dec, 10:00am - 4:30pm
  • Thu 29 Dec, 10:00am - 4:30pm
  • Fri 30 Dec, 10:00am - 4:30pm
  • Sat 31 Dec, 10:00am - 4:30pm
  • Sun 1 Jan 2023, 10:00am - 4:30pm
  • Mon 2 Jan 2023, 10:00am - 4:30pm
  • Tue 3 Jan 2023, 10:00am - 4:30pm
  • Wed 4 Jan 2023, 10:00am - 4:30pm
  • Thu 5 Jan 2023, 10:00am - 4:30pm
  • Fri 6 Jan 2023, 10:00am - 4:30pm
  • Sat 7 Jan 2023, 10:00am - 4:30pm
  • Sun 8 Jan 2023, 10:00am - 4:30pm
  • Mon 9 Jan 2023, 10:00am - 4:30pm
  • Tue 10 Jan 2023, 10:00am - 4:30pm
  • Wed 11 Jan 2023, 10:00am - 4:30pm
  • Thu 12 Jan 2023, 10:00am - 4:30pm
  • Fri 13 Jan 2023, 10:00am - 4:30pm
  • Sat 14 Jan 2023, 10:00am - 4:30pm
  • Sun 15 Jan 2023, 10:00am - 4:30pm
  • Mon 16 Jan 2023, 10:00am - 4:30pm
  • Tue 17 Jan 2023, 10:00am - 4:30pm
  • Wed 18 Jan 2023, 10:00am - 4:30pm
  • Thu 19 Jan 2023, 10:00am - 4:30pm
  • Fri 20 Jan 2023, 10:00am - 4:30pm
  • Sat 21 Jan 2023, 10:00am - 4:30pm
  • Sun 22 Jan 2023, 10:00am - 4:30pm
  • Mon 23 Jan 2023, 10:00am - 4:30pm
  • Tue 24 Jan 2023, 10:00am - 4:30pm
  • Wed 25 Jan 2023, 10:00am - 4:30pm
  • Thu 26 Jan 2023, 10:00am - 4:30pm
  • Fri 27 Jan 2023, 10:00am - 4:30pm
  • Sat 28 Jan 2023, 10:00am - 4:30pm
  • Sun 29 Jan 2023, 10:00am - 4:30pm
  • Mon 30 Jan 2023, 10:00am - 4:30pm
  • Tue 31 Jan 2023, 10:00am - 4:30pm
  • Wed 1 Feb 2023, 10:00am - 4:30pm
  • Thu 2 Feb 2023, 10:00am - 4:30pm
  • Fri 3 Feb 2023, 10:00am - 4:30pm
  • Sat 4 Feb 2023, 10:00am - 4:30pm
  • Sun 5 Feb 2023, 10:00am - 4:30pm
  • Mon 6 Feb 2023, 10:00am - 4:30pm
Ticket information:
Free
Location:
Taupo Museum
Restrictions:
All Ages
Powered by Eventfinda