New season deals you'll love! View deals

RENT The Musical by Jonathan Larsen

Set in the East Village of New York City in 1990, Rent is about falling in love, finding your voice and living for today. Winner of the Tony Award for Best Musical and the Pulitzer Prize for Drama, Rent has become a pop cultural phenomenon. with songs that rock and a story that resonates with audiences of all ages.
Based loosely on Puccini's La Boheme, Jonathan Larson's Rent follows a year in the life of a group of impoverished young artists and musicians struggling to survive and create in New York's Lower East Side, under the shadow of HIV/AIDS. The physical and emotional complications of the disease pervade the lives of Roger, Mimi, Tom and Angel. Maureen deals with her chronic infidelity through performance art; her partner, Joanne, wonders if their relationship is worth the trouble. Benny has sold out his Bohemian ideals in exchange for a hefty income and is on the outs with his former friends. Mark, an aspiring filmmaker, feels like an outsider to life in general. How these young bohemians negotiate their dreams, loves and conflicts provides the narrative thread to this groundbreaking musical.
This is theatre at its best – exuberant, passionate and joyous.

Sessions:
  • Wed 12 Oct, 7:30pm - 10:15pm
  • Thu 13 Oct, 7:30pm - 10:15pm
  • Fri 14 Oct, 7:30pm - 10:15pm
  • Sat 15 Oct, 7:30pm - 10:15pm
  • Sun 16 Oct, 2:00pm - 4:45pm
  • Tue 18 Oct, 7:30pm - 10:15pm
  • Wed 19 Oct, 7:30pm - 10:15pm
  • Thu 20 Oct, 7:30pm - 10:15pm
  • Fri 21 Oct, 7:30pm - 10:15pm
  • Sat 22 Oct, 7:30pm - 10:15pm
Ticket information:
Adult: $35.00
School Student up to Year 13: $25.00
Location:
The Playhouse Centre Stage Taupo
Restrictions:
R15
Visit website
Powered by Eventfinda