New season deals you'll love! View deals

Chromatic Offerings - Sophie Saunders and Lisa Call

Kapti Coast artists Sophie Saunders and Lisa Call bring their bold colours in paint and textile to Taupō Museum. Join them for a morning tea Artist floor talk at 1030am on Saturday 20 August.

Sophie Saunders
My work is a sort of ongoing ‘pilgrimage’ with colour and light as my steadfast companions. I start with particular forms and allow the colour choices to come up during the process. This connects with and is dependent on meditation practice.

I have also been looking at reintegrating my feisty, gestural side with the more hard-edged approach of recent years.

If one is to be truthful in painting, I feel it is important to adequately reflect the coalface of one’s everyday life so that both the painter and the viewer are enabled to become more in tune with themselves through both the act of painting and the looking.

Lisa Call
This work investigates journeys and adventure, specifically questioning the choices I have made and the many paths I have taken. Where have I been? Where did I start? How did I get here? What were the pivotal decisions? What patterns do I see?

Colour is of primary importance and is combined intuitively employing a unique palette of hand dyed cotton fabrics. The emphasis on the circle shape brings to mind wheels, a key tool in human travel. The complexities of my ideas are explored through mark making and pattern.

Using both stitch and paint to create depth and movement. The dense quilting creates an enticing texture across the surface of the work.

The final composition is then stitched on to canvas nearly flattening the textile, mimicking my need for agency. As much I we crave adventure, I also crave control.

Taupō Museum is open 7 days from 10am to 4:30pm and entry is free to Taupō District residents with proof of address.

Sessions:
  • Sat 20 Aug, 10:30am - 4:30pm
  • Sun 21 Aug, 10:00am - 4:30pm
  • Mon 22 Aug, 10:00am - 4:30pm
  • Tue 23 Aug, 10:00am - 4:30pm
  • Wed 24 Aug, 10:00am - 4:30pm
  • Thu 25 Aug, 10:00am - 4:30pm
  • Fri 26 Aug, 10:00am - 4:30pm
  • Sat 27 Aug, 10:00am - 4:30pm
  • Sun 28 Aug, 10:00am - 4:30pm
  • Mon 29 Aug, 10:00am - 4:30pm
  • Tue 30 Aug, 10:00am - 4:30pm
  • Wed 31 Aug, 10:00am - 4:30pm
  • Thu 1 Sep, 10:00am - 4:30pm
  • Fri 2 Sep, 10:00am - 4:30pm
  • Sat 3 Sep, 10:00am - 4:30pm
  • Sun 4 Sep, 10:00am - 4:30pm
  • Mon 5 Sep, 10:00am - 4:30pm
  • Tue 6 Sep, 10:00am - 4:30pm
  • Wed 7 Sep, 10:00am - 4:30pm
  • Thu 8 Sep, 10:00am - 4:30pm
  • Fri 9 Sep, 10:00am - 4:30pm
  • Sat 10 Sep, 10:00am - 4:30pm
  • Sun 11 Sep, 10:00am - 4:30pm
  • Mon 12 Sep, 10:00am - 4:30pm
  • Tue 13 Sep, 10:00am - 4:30pm
  • Wed 14 Sep, 10:00am - 4:30pm
  • Thu 15 Sep, 10:00am - 4:30pm
  • Fri 16 Sep, 10:00am - 4:30pm
  • Sat 17 Sep, 10:00am - 4:30pm
  • Sun 18 Sep, 10:00am - 4:30pm
  • Mon 19 Sep, 10:00am - 4:30pm
  • Tue 20 Sep, 10:00am - 4:30pm
  • Wed 21 Sep, 10:00am - 4:30pm
  • Thu 22 Sep, 10:00am - 4:30pm
  • Fri 23 Sep, 10:00am - 4:30pm
  • Sat 24 Sep, 10:00am - 4:30pm
  • Sun 25 Sep, 10:00am - 4:30pm
Ticket information:
Children 0 – 18: $0.00
Students: $3.00
Seniors 60+: $3.00
Adults: $5.00
Location:
Taupo Museum
Restrictions:
All Ages
Powered by Eventfinda