COVID-19 travel alert: New Zealand is currently at Alert Level 4. Learn more.

Batik by Ann Hay

Exotic batik wall hangings on display Everything from native New Zealand birds to African animals will soon be on display at the Taupō Museum as part of an upcoming exhibition by Ann Hay. Hay’s exhibition features original batik wall hangings. Batik is the art of decorating cloth using wax and dye The exhibition showcases a range of subjects including New Zealand mountain, lake and rural scenes. Hay lives in Taumaranui but was born in England and grew up in Kenya. She spent 25 years in Africa and said she enjoyed drawing animals in the game parks using oils and pencils. An art gallery suggested she take up the art of batik as it was an easy art form for tourists to roll up and take home, so Hay taught herself the craft and over the years has created her own technique. Exhibitions officer Kerence Stephen said the works were intricate and detailed, and beautifully demonstrated high quality batik work. “The variety of themes in Ann’s wall hangings means there is something for everyone,” she said. Ann has exhibited her work in several African countries, the United Kingdom, the United States, Paris, Australia and New Zealand. Her last exhibition at Taupō Museum was in 2016, where she celebrated her 80th birthday and most of the works sold. The exhibition opens on Easter Saturday, April 11 and runs until May 18 in the Niven Room. Taupo Museum is open 7 days (Except Easter Friday and Christmas Day) from 10am to 4:30pm. Entry is free to Taupo District residents and ratepayers with proof of address and all children. Adult $5, seniors and tertiary students $3.

Sessions:
  • Sat 11 Apr, 10:00am - 4:30pm
  • Sun 12 Apr, 10:00am - 4:30pm
  • Mon 13 Apr, 10:00am - 4:30pm
  • Tue 14 Apr, 10:00am - 4:30pm
  • Wed 15 Apr, 10:00am - 4:30pm
  • Thu 16 Apr, 10:00am - 4:30pm
  • Fri 17 Apr, 10:00am - 4:30pm
  • Sat 18 Apr, 10:00am - 4:30pm
  • Sun 19 Apr, 10:00am - 4:30pm
  • Mon 20 Apr, 10:00am - 4:30pm
  • Tue 21 Apr, 10:00am - 4:30pm
  • Wed 22 Apr, 10:00am - 4:30pm
  • Thu 23 Apr, 10:00am - 4:30pm
  • Fri 24 Apr, 10:00am - 4:30pm
  • Sat 25 Apr, 10:00am - 4:30pm
  • Sun 26 Apr, 10:00am - 4:30pm
  • Mon 27 Apr, 10:00am - 4:30pm
  • Tue 28 Apr, 10:00am - 4:30pm
  • Wed 29 Apr, 10:00am - 4:30pm
  • Thu 30 Apr, 10:00am - 4:30pm
  • Fri 1 May, 10:00am - 4:30pm
  • Sat 2 May, 10:00am - 4:30pm
  • Sun 3 May, 10:00am - 4:30pm
  • Mon 4 May, 10:00am - 4:30pm
  • Tue 5 May, 10:00am - 4:30pm
  • Wed 6 May, 10:00am - 4:30pm
  • Thu 7 May, 10:00am - 4:30pm
  • Fri 8 May, 10:00am - 4:30pm
  • Sat 9 May, 10:00am - 4:30pm
  • Sun 10 May, 10:00am - 4:30pm
  • Mon 11 May, 10:00am - 4:30pm
  • Tue 12 May, 10:00am - 4:30pm
  • Wed 13 May, 10:00am - 4:30pm
  • Thu 14 May, 10:00am - 4:30pm
  • Fri 15 May, 10:00am - 4:30pm
  • Sat 16 May, 10:00am - 4:30pm
  • Sun 17 May, 10:00am - 4:30pm
  • Mon 18 May, 10:00am - 4:30pm
Ticket information:
Adults: 5
Location:
Taupo Museum
Restrictions:
All Ages
}