Ko Taupō Te Moana

Taupō Museum is excited and honoured to bring together an exhibition about our moana / lake – Taupō-Nui-ā-Tia, with new art works created by fifteen contemporary Tūwharetoa artists. This will be the first time in over 20 years that Tūwharetoa artists have been brought together to exhibit collectively as Ngāti Tūwharetoa. These will displayed in a variety of mediums from carving and weaving, to video, painting, sculpture and more. The artists include: - Rangi Hetet - Veranoa Hetet - Te Maari Gardiner - Delani Brown - Haki Williams - Kingi Pitiroi - Vanessa Wairata-Edwards - Reweti Arapere - Natasha Keating - Henriata Nicholas - Hayz Isherwood - Mikaere Gardiner - Ria Te Uira Paki - Tautahanga Rameka and Kahumako Rameka ‘Ko Taupō te Moana’ draws inspiration from the pepeha of Ngati Tuwharetoa which refers to the landscape and moana as an integral feature of identity. This exhibition serves to acknowledge and celebrate our moana in which many nations and people travel from near and far come to view, experience, and appreciate. An exhibition presented by Taupō Museum, and Tūwharetoa Māori Trust Board. Curated by Piata Winitana-Murray.

Sessions:
  • Tue 21 Jan, 10:00am - 4:30pm
  • Wed 22 Jan, 10:00am - 4:30pm
  • Thu 23 Jan, 10:00am - 4:30pm
  • Fri 24 Jan, 10:00am - 4:30pm
  • Sat 25 Jan, 10:00am - 4:30pm
  • Sun 26 Jan, 10:00am - 4:30pm
  • Mon 27 Jan, 10:00am - 4:30pm
  • Tue 28 Jan, 10:00am - 4:30pm
  • Wed 29 Jan, 10:00am - 4:30pm
  • Thu 30 Jan, 10:00am - 4:30pm
  • Fri 31 Jan, 10:00am - 4:30pm
  • Sat 1 Feb, 10:00am - 4:30pm
  • Sun 2 Feb, 10:00am - 4:30pm
  • Mon 3 Feb, 10:00am - 4:30pm
  • Tue 4 Feb, 10:00am - 4:30pm
  • Wed 5 Feb, 10:00am - 4:30pm
  • Thu 6 Feb, 10:00am - 4:30pm
  • Fri 7 Feb, 10:00am - 4:30pm
  • Sat 8 Feb, 10:00am - 4:30pm
  • Sun 9 Feb, 10:00am - 4:30pm
  • Mon 10 Feb, 10:00am - 4:30pm
  • Tue 11 Feb, 10:00am - 4:30pm
  • Wed 12 Feb, 10:00am - 4:30pm
  • Thu 13 Feb, 10:00am - 4:30pm
  • Fri 14 Feb, 10:00am - 4:30pm
  • Sat 15 Feb, 10:00am - 4:30pm
  • Sun 16 Feb, 10:00am - 4:30pm
  • Mon 17 Feb, 10:00am - 4:30pm
Ticket information:
Adults: 5
Location:
Taupo Museum
Restrictions:
All Ages
Website:
Visit Website
}