Matariki Hunga Nui - Matariki Of Many People

Featuring Whakapapa quilts by Maungarongo (Ron)Te Kawa and Artworks by Taupō District children and young people. Maungarongo Te Kawa (Ngāti Porou) is an artist, storyteller, quilter and fashion designer. His whakapapa quilts are based on the traditional concepts of te whare pora (the creative zone), waipunarangi (the source of creativity) and hine te iwaiwa, (the energy of nature). “These traditional concepts,” says Maungarongo, “are also used by people like indigenous midwives, weavers, artists and healers. They are part of living a whole, healthy, vital life.” “For me making whakapapa quilts is all about wellbeing and mental health through helping people connect with their heritage. It is so empowering to be able to tell your own stories, especially in a new and tactile way”. By making a whakapapa quilt we are decolonising our creativity. We move completely away from the western model of mass production”. Maungarongo takes his philosophy on Māori mental health to mainstream mental health professionals, giving talks or more often presenting the philosophies through his one-man puppet show which he takes around the country. “Times are changing and some people are now ready to learn about Māori healing practices. The puppet show is about a homeless family living in Invercargill, and how they use the old philosophies to get home to Ruatoria. They rely on dreams, they connect to nature, and they believe in people.” As a story teller Maungarongo helps others become one too. “It is not just for Māori. Being connected to whānau and nature, and having hope matters for everyone.” The museum is open seven days from 10am to 4.30pm. Entry is free to children and Taupō District residents with proof of address.

Sessions:
  • Sat 25 May, 10:00am - 4:30pm
  • Sun 26 May, 10:00am - 4:30pm
  • Mon 27 May, 10:00am - 4:30pm
  • Tue 28 May, 10:00am - 4:30pm
  • Wed 29 May, 10:00am - 4:30pm
  • Thu 30 May, 10:00am - 4:30pm
  • Fri 31 May, 10:00am - 4:30pm
  • Sat 1 Jun, 10:00am - 4:30pm
  • Sun 2 Jun, 10:00am - 4:30pm
  • Mon 3 Jun, 10:00am - 4:30pm
  • Tue 4 Jun, 10:00am - 4:30pm
  • Wed 5 Jun, 10:00am - 4:30pm
  • Thu 6 Jun, 10:00am - 4:30pm
  • Fri 7 Jun, 10:00am - 4:30pm
  • Sat 8 Jun, 10:00am - 4:30pm
  • Sun 9 Jun, 10:00am - 4:30pm
  • Mon 10 Jun, 10:00am - 4:30pm
  • Tue 11 Jun, 10:00am - 4:30pm
  • Wed 12 Jun, 10:00am - 4:30pm
  • Thu 13 Jun, 10:00am - 4:30pm
  • Fri 14 Jun, 10:00am - 4:30pm
  • Sat 15 Jun, 10:00am - 4:30pm
  • Sun 16 Jun, 10:00am - 4:30pm
  • Mon 17 Jun, 10:00am - 4:30pm
  • Tue 18 Jun, 10:00am - 4:30pm
  • Wed 19 Jun, 10:00am - 4:30pm
  • Thu 20 Jun, 10:00am - 4:30pm
  • Fri 21 Jun, 10:00am - 4:30pm
  • Sat 22 Jun, 10:00am - 4:30pm
  • Sun 23 Jun, 10:00am - 4:30pm
  • Mon 24 Jun, 10:00am - 4:30pm
  • Tue 25 Jun, 10:00am - 4:30pm
  • Wed 26 Jun, 10:00am - 4:30pm
  • Thu 27 Jun, 10:00am - 4:30pm
  • Fri 28 Jun, 10:00am - 4:30pm
  • Sat 29 Jun, 10:00am - 4:30pm
  • Sun 30 Jun, 10:00am - 4:30pm
  • Mon 1 Jul, 10:00am - 4:30pm
Ticket information:
Free
Location:
Taupo Museum
Restrictions:
All Ages
}